Hey, Have you seen that movie?

My sister and I go round and round with this question. She’ll ask me if I have watched a movie with a few famous actors and I will say I had not. She’ll find it and save it on DVR and let me know so I can watch it. A few days later she’ll ask me how I liked it. I will say something like it had too much bad language or physically revealing scenes in it and I didn’t watch the movie.

She will always say “it’s only a movie”. We have similar conversations about books, TV shows and even lifestyles. I have struggled for a long time with how to explain to her my choice not to watch such shows etc. Well, I finally found the words. Unfortunately they didn’t come to me in a dream or a divine vision  🙂 ; I found them, of all places, on the internet. So here goes…

“I refuse to entertain myself with the things my God went to the cross for.”

Oh my Gosh! Every time I read those words I get chill bumps. What an enormous statement to make and to live up to. I still have a huge grin on my face while I write this. Not because I found it but because it is the ultimate statement a Christ Follower can make.

