Superheros aren’t immortal either.

I don’t usually feel my body dying one day at a time as I get older. But getting another diagnosis has hit me harder than I imagined it would. I have been a Christ Follower for several years so I am very aware of my earthly mortality and my heavenly immortality. So why do I feel different now?

Like most families, there is a full gambit of diseases in ours. You name it and someone has had it. Most of the bad ones won out in the end but a few have been beaten. My mom is a breast cancer survivor and she is a tremendous blessing to everyone in her life. I was diagnosed with arthritis and fibromyalgia several years ago and I thought, for some wishful reason, that would be it. Well, I should have known it wouldn’t be.

I had attributed so many things to the above two ailments only to find out I have another one. I felt different with this diagnosis than with the others. I’m not really sure why. As I write this, I still don’t know why. But it could be that this one is degenerative. Although it probably isn’t the last diagnosis I will receive, it is the first one that has long lasting harmful effects.

I knew there were many types of arthritis. But I didn’t know anything about osteoarthritis. Unfortunately, I do now. And it isn’t pretty but it isn’t the worst either. Yes I know I am in God’s hands and yes He helps me everyday, one way or the other. But this reality has changed me somehow. I’m still pondering what that is and I’ve been praying for it to be shown to me. I know God doesn’t work in a microwave so I will continue to try to read myself and listen to Him.

Father, thank You for loving me and helping me everyday. Please show me the changes I am experiencing in a way that will glorify You.

Stay safe and God bless.

