Dog days of winter

Since Monday, I have been sick as a dog. I’m not sure where that expression came from but I feel real sorry for the dog :). I’m not sure what I have since it isn’t completely gone, but it knocked me down for a better part of the week. It started with a sore throat and that was pretty much it. Only one side which the doc said was unusual. Well that is my normal so it wasn’t unusual for me. So, he gave me prednisone, zovirax and levaquin. I have heard of these but this is the first time I have taken them. I do feel better so I guess whatever it is, is going away. Good riddens!

I have been allowing things to get me down. The stupid government and all their lies, things that should be against the law that aren’t, and so much chaos in general. The news is full of it. Sometimes I feel like we are being overrun and the few honest and loving people are dwindling down to even fewer in numbers. Makes me want to buy an island and go hide from the rest of the world.

But then I look at my bible sitting on my shelf across my room. I almost sneer at it knowing the answers are in there. Knowing that God works in his own time and not mine. Knowing all of this is under His control and He will deal with it in His own better-than-mine time. So why do I bother even thinking about this junk?

I think mostly because I don’t want anyone to wind up in Hell because they were not interested in learning the truth. Because they didn’t think it was important. Because they didn’t think they deserved it. Even though Jesus Christ was raised from the dead, He nevertheless died for all of us. No matter what we have done in the past or present, we all have the ability to accept His sacrifice and be forgiven. It is His free gift. It is that simple.

