How are you feeling?

That is an interesting question. When someone asks me that, I immediately think of how I am feeling physically. But it donned on me today that they may mean something else completely. A woman at church asked me that question and she knows I have three types of Arthritis and Fibromyalgia. I’m pretty sure she wasn’t trying to gauge my physical pain on a rainy day. I move slower as I try to hide the pain. So I chose to answer her based on my emotions instead.

I told her that I am feeling good about my life right now and that I can’t wait for what God has in store for me in the near future. She told me that my attitude was refreshing. And we chatted for several minutes about the sermon and the direction the church seems to be going. I found her question provoking and unusual. But I also know that had it come from someone who does not know my physical issues, I would have taken it quite differently.

So I decided to challenge myself this coming week to not be so quick to answer any question but instead to ponder for a few moments an answer they were not expecting. I know I expect certain answers to my questions or at least something close to it. Try it yourself and I will share my experience with you next time.

Until then, stay safe and God bless.

 

