Silence is Golden!

I remember Mom telling us many times while growing up that “Silence is Golden”. But I never really understood why. We would be in a group of mixed age people and our parents would be chatting with their friends and mom would hold her finger to her lips showing the “Shush” hand gesture. We complied even after finishing school knowing that mom had her reasons. And sure enough by listening to these conversations, we would learn a great deal about the situation being discussed or about the people doing the talking.

Later, I would do and say the same thing to my children. They too learned that you can learn more in silence than in talking. Fast forward to today and finding silence is the hardest thing I do. I don’t turn on my TV when I wake up. I usually don’t turn it on until the evening news. But someone else in the house will turn one on then there’s a TV blaring from somewhere. Finding a place of silence is extremely difficult most days.

I can go into my walk-in closet and sit and no one knows I am there. But it isn’t a quiet place to get silence. I can go outside and sit in the swing to just hear the outside world and that is great until the neighbor cranks the lawnmower or leaf blower. I can put my ear buds in without the music but even then I hear the hum of my tinnitus.

This rant started because I found a quiet time outside in the swing this afternoon. My mom and dad came out and we quietly said something from time to time. But that ended with the blare of noise from a cell phone.  There went my silence. I prayed for peace to deal with this and It came. But I was still perturbed because my quiet had been invaded. I wanted to say something but I knew it would be misunderstood. So I called on more peace and enjoyed what I could.

Don’t get me wrong, I love all of my family, but having silence is important to me. It is the place where I hear God’s small voice the loudest. I will continue to ask for God’s peace and look for silence where ever I can get it.

Stay safe and God bless you.

5/4/15 Addendum to the Rant.

I kid you not…mom, who is 78 and still kicking butt, was doing the dishes after breakfast. She had a drying towel in one hand and a coffee cup in the other. She walked into the living room, turned on the TV and returned to the kitchen to finish the dishes. Aarrrggggg! I just can’t win…lol.

About Donna Lynn

I'm a grandma with Fibromyalgia who loves her family and wants to make a difference, even if it is lots of tiny ones. I live in sunny Florida and enjoy my time with family and friends. I'm living with God leading, hoping to someday make some sense of it all. I give Him the glory as much as I can and I love to share Him with everyone.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.