Happy Mother’s Day Mom!

As Mother’s Day approaches every year, I love to search for small memories of growing up. Our mom was the homemaker who made us breakfast before school every morning regardless of how she felt. She drove us to school and picked us up until we were old enough to safely walk home together or with friends. When it was supper time you could hear mom call us from a few streets away. Or she would poke her head out the back door and tell our friends it was time for them to go home. Mom kept home safe and ruled with a love-wrapped iron fist. She was our example in every day life. She was our teacher and our safe harbor. Everyday she taught us some little something about God’s love either spoken or by her actions.

As we grew up and started to date, mom was there for every aspect. She was out spoken when she didn’t think either we or they were behaving right. She caught us when we floated with joy and when we crashed in tears. It was mom who taught us how to drive, sure dad would drive with us on the weekends when he was home. But mom did most of that work. She quietly but sternly corrected us whenever and where ever we needed it. Yes, we had to pick our own switches to get whipped with but she did it because she needed to, not because she wanted to hurt us. It is because of mom (and dad, of course) that we are responsible, respectable, polite and upstanding citizens.

It wasn’t enough to just tell you how great our mom is. I had to tell you why. I could go on for days about her but I think you get the idea. I can’t imagine life without her. Hopefully she will live as long as I do so I won’t have to deal with that. But I know that is a dream and may not happen the way I want it to. I actually don’t want to lose either of our parents. I have heard some people actually say they will be glad when so-in-so is gone. I can’t imagine feeling like that about our parents. They are both amazing people.

I figure they must have done something right somewhere along the line. Dad was able to retire from the railroad in 2000. So he has had 15 years so far to enjoy the life he built for his family. We are so blessed it is hard to find words. A few years ago they invited me to move back into the family home. I was skeptical at first but it has been a real blessing. I was divorced and my children are grown with families of their own. I took it as a blessing from the beginning because I was not looking forward to getting the call in the middle of the night that I needed to come home for a medical reason. Praise God, they are mostly healthy, just getting older…lol.

I think part of that equation has to be their faith and walk with Jesus. Some may say sure, it’s just coincidence, but I beg to differ. They have friends that are older and younger than they are and they are dying or having major health problems. My parents have health issues but nothing major. They are survivors and taught us how to be survivors too. I hope all of this has rubbed off on my children. Of course, we know who holds them in His hands.

Thank you Father for our Mom (and Dad) and the many blessings I would never be able to list.

Stay safe and God bless…

About Donna Lynn

I'm a grandma with Fibromyalgia who loves her family and wants to make a difference, even if it is lots of tiny ones. I live in sunny Florida and enjoy my time with family and friends. I'm living with God leading, hoping to someday make some sense of it all. I give Him the glory as much as I can and I love to share Him with everyone.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.