Working on the illness

huh? Oh yea, I almost forgot. Let’s see…I have several, illnesses that is. I shall name them. They are a part of me so I might as well put them in their places. I have, in no particular order, arthritis, osteoarthritis, ankylosing spondylitis, chronic migraines, fibromyalgia and diabetes. Phew! Sounds like a mess doesn’t it. I’m still searching for the elusive pain reliever that actually works without turning me into a zombie or making me sleep all day. So, I go without. Which means I do take naps when my body starts screaming. And while I have fibro flares, they only last a week or so then things start to die back down to a tolerable normal.

I don’t tell you this to brag about it as though whomever has the most nameable illnesses wins something. I don’t need sympathy although a little understanding goes a very long way. I’m not complaining either since I know everything happens for a reason and complaining doesn’t change anything. I tell you this because I have learned to reply on God not just daily but minute by minute most days. He is steady, strong and keeps me focused on my mission. He has given me a heart for teaching and encouragement and I look for ways to “shine” Him everywhere I go despite what things feel like on the inside.

I am around people from time to time who do need sympathy since they seem to not be able to wait to tell me how bad they feel. Or how the tests turned out without me even asking. I assume they need sympathy since the discussion was not prompted by any questions about the situation. They leap at the chance to be heard. As though no one in their lives seems to care. Or it could be that they are afraid and need reassurance.

I try to think the latter is the case when I come across anyone spewing their pains and illnesses. Even though I pray for their healing, I also pray for the endurance and strength that only God can give. This might even be a part of my earlier post about changing my attitude since it is a choice I choose to believe. Either way, I am in God’s pocket instead of the other way around. I think He prefers it that way. I know I do.

