No more hate!

The extremists have done it again. I agree that the Confederate Battle flag should never have been flown anywhere  whatsoever. The first Confederate States of America flag was known as “the Stars and Bars”. There were two more that were somewhat similar but they were not the battle flag that everyone knows as the rebel flag.

The battle or rebel flag was created for the battlefield because the Northern and Southern flags were so similar that the difference was hard to distinguish in the heat of battle. Had people continued to use the official Confederate flags, I don’t think the issue would be so bad.

Either way, I don’t really care. The North continues to lie about their role in starting that war anyway. It had little to do with slavery and everything to do with the North trying to figure out how they were going to force taxes on the South for their slaves.  Yes, I know there were cruel slave owners. I get that. But I also know there were good men who had slaves working for them. I use to have a copy of a letter from a slave owner who wanted to stop his slaves from fighting against the North alongside the owner’s sons. The letter was addressed to General Lee. I know that doesn’t change things but it did show me that there is more to the story than the North will allow in the history books.

But this is the bottom line…removing the Confederate battle flag from existence will NOT miraculously stop the hate that is out there. Anymore than banning guns will stop murders and suicides which have been committed long before the invention of the gun. We will always have haters against something or someone. It goes back farther than the death of Jesus Christ on the cross. He paid the ultimate price but still forgave His haters. They are a fact of life and trying to remove everything that could possibly spark hate and killing is ridiculous and futile.

Rant over…

 

About Donna Lynn

I'm a grandma with Fibromyalgia who loves her family and wants to make a difference, even if it is lots of tiny ones. I live in sunny Florida and enjoy my time with family and friends. I'm living with God leading, hoping to someday make some sense of it all. I give Him the glory as much as I can and I love to share Him with everyone.
This entry was posted in Jesus Christ, Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.