The Death of DeNile

I was blessed to be able to change the way I use to eat and lost almost 94 pounds in about a year. Wahoo!!! It was awesome but then it stopped. Mostly because I figured out that I could stay on my routine and sneak in a brownie or ice cream here and there and it wouldn’t hurt anything…weight wise anyway. Yes I am diabetic and in denial.

So Monday of this week, my daughter took my 14-year-old granddaughter, Makayla, to the doctor to talk about her “numbers”. They were horrible, really horrible. I believe her family may be in denial. I’m sure they are afraid to face the challenges the changes to her/their diet are going to create.

I have been praying and thinking about what that will look like for my granddaughter. I am struggling for ways to provide support to her from 600 miles away. I am hoping I can use social media, this site, texts and phone calls to fill that 600 mile gap. I think it will work, but something occurred to me as I was contemplating my strategy. I am also in denial! Rats!

Right now, I have a pan of brownies and a peanut butter desert in the fridge. Four Italian ice’s and a tub of ice cream in the freezer. There are two and a half small bags of M&M’s in the pantry. There is a box of cinnamon rolls to be made. There is cake mixes in there also. I only eat a little bit when I do eat any of it. Surely a little can’t be bad. Yep, I have a problem. I too, do not want to deal with it. It will be difficult. No, it will be very difficult.

So I am spending the rest of the evening praying for the strength to throw all of the above in the trash tomorrow by supper time. I can’t effectively encourage my granddaughter and be a hypocrite about the sugar issue. I know I have to do this. My sister did it a year ago because of medical reasons and if she can do it (poor sweetheart has no will power), I can do it. Besides we have God on our side and we will be far healthier for it.

So here goes! Wish me luck! Lots of prayer would be very appreciated too.

Stay safe and God bless.

About Donna Lynn

I'm a grandma with Fibromyalgia who loves her family and wants to make a difference, even if it is lots of tiny ones. I live in sunny Florida and enjoy my time with family and friends. I'm living with God leading, hoping to someday make some sense of it all. I give Him the glory as much as I can and I love to share Him with everyone.
This entry was posted in Jesus Christ, Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.