Seeds of Change, Day 1

I have been struggling for some time to get control of my weight and medical “numbers”. While my numbers are stable and mostly under control, they could still be a lot better. So with my granddaughter’s issues and my own, I have been praying for ways to achieve this in a manner that is not overwhelming for either of us and doable for her. This morning I think I may have come up with a way. My next challenge is to get Makayla on board.

The Purpose Driven Life came to mind and I thought that would be a great way to approach this. Each day will involve a change. Sometimes the changes will be small and sometimes not-so-much. The beauty of this is that making mistakes throughout it doesn’t equal failure. It just means you need to pray more and try again.

The basis for this to work is medically proven. It is based on the book “Choose to Lose: The 7-Day Carb Cycle Solution”. I am not able to follow the book completely because there are four people in the house I cook for and they would have a fit if they couldn’t eat their favorite foods. So I use it as a model and made it into something that works for me. The jest is that you eat within 30 minutes of waking up. Then you eat again in three hours. This goes on through the day up to five times of eating. Keep your meals small and as balanced as possible. Eat an apple instead of a sandwich. Or a hand full of nuts instead of chips. The trick is this…the amount is more important than the item.

I’ll give you an example of an average day for me. I am usually up by 8:30am. By 9am I eat a serving of oatmeal or cereal and a fruit cup. Around noon I’ll eat an apple or yogurt. Around 3pm I usually eat the apple or yogurt I didn’t eat earlier. Around 6pm I have supper. I try to always have at least a vegetable and a meat. Keep the amount of each to about the size of a tangerine or the center palm area of your hand. If you have green beans for example, eat all you want. They are one thing you can have as much of as you want. Limit the “fast carbs” like pasta, rice, corn, potatoes, and bread. On days when I know I won’t be home at that three-hour mark, I take an apple or a protein bar so I won’t skip a meal. It is important not to skip your meals.

The first week is the hardest for most people because your body is trained to eat three times a day. Don’t give up! Eat something. The science is that your body has been use to storing fat to use for energy between your meals. If you are eating something every three hours, your body will learn not to store the fat. Especially if you are careful how much and what you eat in the process.

So, today’s challenge is simple. Read this blog to learn what you will need to do. Ask questions if you have them and be ready for tomorrow’s challenge.

Stay safe and God bless.

 

About Donna Lynn

I'm a grandma with Fibromyalgia who loves her family and wants to make a difference, even if it is lots of tiny ones. I live in sunny Florida and enjoy my time with family and friends. I'm living with God leading, hoping to someday make some sense of it all. I give Him the glory as much as I can and I love to share Him with everyone.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.