The Loss of a Day

You know when you lose something and you search for it until you find it? Well, how do you find a lost day. I wasn’t in a flare so it wasn’t lost there. I didn’t have a hundred appointments to cram into an eight hour day so that can’t be it. I don’t sleep well enough to miss an entire day although that would be awesome. I woke up yesterday and had an average day. But my inner clock is stuck on Saturday. The problem…it’s Friday!

With Summer in full swing parents all over are hearing their children complain because they are bored to tears. I remember wishing my days would just be over with. Get to the weekend or something, anything but stop where I was. I text my grandchildren and hear the same things we use to say. Nothing is worse than being bored.

Or so I thought. My grandmother use to say I should never wish away a day. She never elaborated why but as I approach the age she was when I was a little girl, I think I understand. We can’t get our days back. Luckily there aren’t many days I’d want back. Maybe the birth of my children and grandchildren. Maybe a day here and there with loved ones who are gone. Maybe a day or so when I honestly had fun and was pain free. But not many. I haven’t led a perfect life but I have had a contented life. I have everything I need right here and gaining a day wouldn’t change a thing. So why the lost day. Where did it go?

Out my window I can watch the birds and squirrels take turns hogging the sunflower seed container hanging from an orange tree. Their antics are fun to watch. They don’t care what day it is. It has no effect on them whatsoever what day of the week it is. I see people coming and going and wonder if any of them lost a day and if they did, do they feel like I do? It is almost like someone stole it. I know I can’t get it back but I don’t like being stuck in tomorrow when tomorrow isn’t here yet. Then what will happen the next day? Will I stay in this lost feeling of not knowing what happened to a day? Will there be more days or just the one day? Why does it matter, it’s gone. Never to be experienced ever again. Funny how that sounds so final.

Stay safe and God bless!

