Consuming Fire!

Don’t Google the questions you need answers for. Go to the source instead. This is prompted after reading several blogs outside of WordPress. One writer was writing about what church should look like. He erroneously proclaimed that the Bible does not contain any instructions on what the church should look like. I am speaking about the church Jesus Christ instructed and described in great detail in scripture.

So I go and Google that question thinking I would find good answers. I was wrong again! Every denomination and self-proclaimed expert has a totally different opinion on the answer. I read a few just to get an idea of why so many people could have it wrong. I discovered that it is a great miracle that anyone has it right.

I found way too many sites where “experts” were defining “church” as a place where you should feel comfortable. Or a place where your feelings matter. Or a place where you can find refuge from the cruel world outside. The list goes on and none of them could quote scripture to back up their “knowledge”. Most of which can be found in 1 Corinthians and Titus. They were preaching about church based on what the average public, who don’t know church or scripture, want to hear.

Yes! You should find a safe church, but does that really exist? You should find a church that has good a/c so you won’t sweat, but is it really necessary? You should find a church who cares about your feelings, but how does that help you grow in Christ?

I think it is awesome that so many people attend church throughout the week. People are involved in evangelizing and growing a community of Christian believers who serve an awesome God. But are they going through the motions or actually getting results.

I know a lot of people who go through the motions. They show up at church when the doors are open because they have nothing else to do. It is something they have done for many many years. They feel they should but have no real feelings about why they are there.

Third Day put out the song “Consuming Fire” several years ago. I not only love the music that goes with this but the words are few but deep.

“Consuming Fire”

Set this place on fire
Send you spirit, Savior
Rescue from the mire
Show Your servant favor
Yesterday was the day that I was alone
Now I’m in the presence of Almighty God

[Chorus:]

And yes our God, He is a consuming fire
And the flames burn down deep in my soul
Yes our God He is a consuming fire
He reaches inside and He melts down this
cold heart of stone.

Set this place on fire
Send Your spirit, Saviour
Rescue from the mire
Show your servant favor
Yesterday was the day that I was alone
Now I’m in the presence of Almighty God

[Repeat chorus]

Did you realize that inside you there is a flame?
Did you ever try to let it burn?

When I go to church, I want to be on fire or at least have a flickering flame or a spark. I don’t want to get wet when I go there, I want to be consumed. I get excited even before I know it is church night. I look forward to learning and seeing what God has in store for me. Sometimes I get to enjoy what He has in store for someone else, and that is just as exciting. Sometimes I feel Him thump me on the head because I got it wrong. That is exciting too. It is my opportunity to learn and change into what He wants me to be.

I go expecting to see miracles, see lives changed, see people come to a real understanding of why they are there and why they matter. Sure you should feel good about church but it isn’t about how you feel. It should be about how you feel God as He is at work in the church and in you. How God is using the people to further His kingdom, to nurture each other and to spread His love. Church shouldn’t be about us. It should be about God!

