Time Flies!

There are a lot of saying about time flying. But it is true. I think we notice it more and more the older we get or the older our children and grandchildren get. Time is a funny thing. It can be your friend or your worst enemy.

I often Skype with my daughter-in-law as she shares times with my new grandson with me. He is growing like a weed…lol. I was fortunate to be in North Carolina when he was born and I miss the time I could have had with him when he was an infant. There is nothing so sweet and calming as holding an infant in your arms.

I hope to see all of my grandchildren this coming Christmas. Even though I know it will be a busy and hard time for me, it will be worth it. My oldest two grandchildren are in high school and the youngest girl is in second grade. She will be nine in February. They all are really growing way too fast. But I have been so blessed to be a part of their lives. They really do amaze me.

This month will fly by as well. I am getting jewelry ready for a festival the first weekend of next month and I’m feeling the pinch. I have moments of creativeness like most people do and sometimes it can go dry for days. That bothers me as though it isn’t normal but I know it is. It affects my writing as well. I’m surrounded by so many things I could be doing that I often find myself sitting and trying to decide what to do next. It sounds silly, but I guess it’s likes filing papers in a folder, so the brain can reorganize.

My writing has slacked off this month and last too. I’ve been studying more, again trying to get some things done, and focusing on family. Which is good I know but it all feels like it needs attention, as if it could ever be finished.

I have often taught on what it means to wait on God. I use to teach 1st and 2nd grade Sunday school. One of the easiest ways to explain God’s timing was to use the comparison between an oven and a microwave. I don’t remember who came up with this but it wasn’t me.

I would ask them questions about watching their mom cook and bake in the oven versus heating something up in the microwave. I remember one little girl told me her favorite snack was cookies. I asked her if her mom baked them in a microwave. She said no because they wouldn’t bake right. I asked her which was more important, that they quickly be ready to eat or that they be great to eat. She said great to eat was best. I asked her if it was worth waiting on the oven and she agreed.

That day they gleaned a small bit of what it means to wait on God. While it is a very difficult thing to do, we know it will be far better than anything we could do ourselves. He does not operate in a microwave. I’m glad it doesn’t.

Stay safe and God bless.

 

