Responding with Silence

I often write how people amaze me. With their actions and with their words. Lately, I’ve been noticing how people use profanity and mean talk like breathing air, yet are at church or doing church work. Can you be accused of judging if the subject is a truth?

I am real good at responding to insults and bad behavior in a way that makes people scratch their heads. I respond in a manner that is completely opposite to the action that is due back to them or expected. But as bad as it has gotten lately, I have decided to remain silent, at least for as long as I can. I could very easily fall into a baited hole and that would not be good for anyone.

In 1 Peter 2:23, Jesus remained silent when insults were hurled at him. He did not retaliate but instead entrusted Himself to Him who judges justly. I have made a committment to follow Jesus. Remaining silent goes against our nature but I am determined to do things His way, not mine.

 

About Donna Lynn

I'm a grandma with Fibromyalgia who loves her family and wants to make a difference, even if it is lots of tiny ones. I live in sunny Florida and enjoy my time with family and friends. I'm living with God leading, hoping to someday make some sense of it all. I give Him the glory as much as I can and I love to share Him with everyone.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.