Sitting on the Fence

My friend Kim believes you can lose your salvation even though scripture is clear that you can’t. While I feel in my heart you can’t lose your salvation, I still know people who have completely denied God and I believe it is possible. So I am still on the fence.

Romans 8:38-39  (NKJV)
For I am persuaded that neither death nor life, nor angels nor principalities nor powers, nor things present nor things to come, nor height nor depth, nor any other created thing, shall be able to separate us from the love of God which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

I was reading about salvation this morning and came across Romans 8:38-39. Of all the things mentioned in these verses that cannot separate us from God, the word “created” jumped out at me. I’ve been struggling with the salvation of others wondering if their salvation was real. Yea I know that is between them and God but I also feel a responsibility to act on their behalf if needed and possible, while there is time. So I’ve been doing research and having conversations on the subject.

It never occurred to me before but I am “created”. Not sure why that hit me this time. I know I have read those passages many times before. Everything and everyone is created, so why is this significant? Could it be telling me that no human has that power? The passage doesn’t mention mankind specifically so maybe that’s what I missed before. Could it be that simple?

John 10:29 (NKJV)
My Father, who has given them to Me, is greater than all; and no one is able to snatch them out of My Father’s hand.

Since John 10:29 states no one is able to snatch them out of my Father’s hand, why would we think it is possible to lose your salvation? There are no stipulations attached to this passage. There are no “therefores” or “what ifs” or “conditions” of any kind whatsoever. It is a statement of fact. This passage removes the possibility of losing your salvation once attained. “Wahoo”!!! But the really really cool part of this passage is…the “no one” includes ME. I don’t know about you, but that is awesome! Not that I’d ever want to but it’s reassuring that I could never make that mistake.

Stay safe and God bless…

One thought on “Sitting on the Fence

  1. Questions come with a seeking heart, that leads us further into the Scriptures that are a delight and bring revelations when and where we need it. Ask and you will receive, Seek and you will find, Knock and the door shall be opened to you, a delightful journey – enjoy !

    Like

Comments are closed.