Are Your Binoculars Broken?

As a little girl I was fascinated with binoculars. We would take them with us fishing, camping or just out for a drive. I still enjoy looking through them when I get a glance of something I cannot see with my own eyes.

But then I got to thinking about how the focus works. We automatically adjust our own eyes to see things more clearly. The binoculars have an adjustment on them that allows us to dial in the focus. I wish we had a dial to adjust our focus when our lives feel skewed and out of control.

My marriage ended after 26 years. I found myself questioning decisions I had made, regretting some and wondering what it was all for if only to be lost. I had planned to retire early to enjoy my family. Travel a bit with the hubby, spoil the grandchildren and just enjoy the opportunity to grow old together. The old couple rocking on the front porch image comes to mind when I think about what I thought we were looking forward to.

But God had a better plan.

At first I focused on what I lost. I know that is normal but it wan’t setting well with me to think I had wasted 26 years in a marriage that defyed everything God said love should be. I have two wonderful grown children who have good Christian spouses and wonderful children of their own. So what was I doing wrong? No matter what I did nothing seemed to be helping me regain my composure and sense of purpose.

Our preacher has been teaching from Genesis for several weeks and we came across scripture where Moses asked God to kill him because he couldn’t deal with the complaining Israelites any longer. I started to wonder about other people in scripture who had loss in their lives and how they overcame their loss. Job, David, and Paul are just a few others who endured such losses. Yet they questioned, they regretted but they never gave up.

They all have one thing in common…they focused on God to restore them. We all have choices and the ability to make attitude adjustments. Our focus falls into this as well. We decide what is important, what is relevent and what is valuable. Matthew 6:21 tells us that “For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”

So I adjusted the focus dial on my binoculars, so to speak, and began focusing on God instead of what was lost. I stopped worrying about a past I cannot change. I don’t bother questioning and regretting those past decisions. I started looking at life like a puzzle full of tiny pieces that all fit together somehow even when I don’t always see the complete picture. Either way, God’s got this, all of this.

Stay safe and God bless…

About Donna Lynn

I'm a grandma with Fibromyalgia who loves her family and wants to make a difference, even if it is lots of tiny ones. I live in sunny Florida and enjoy my time with family and friends. I'm living with God leading, hoping to someday make some sense of it all. I give Him the glory as much as I can and I love to share Him with everyone.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.