Christopher

I met Christopher when he was four. His mom was very ill and the families of the fire department were taking turns helping with babysitting. His dad, my son and my daughter all worked together so we already felt like family. His mom got sicker and died expectedly. Christopher was the one who found her in bed. He was devastated to say the least. He didn’t fully understand anything expect that she was gone.

For almost two years the fire department was their extended family. He was such a cute and sweet little guy. Despite what he went through, he remained a mostly happy little boy. Fast forward almost two years and my daughter became his step-mom. It was a role she was born to do. Of course, having such a sweet child made it all the more easy.

So here is the letter I will send him.

My dearest Christopher, you are my pride and joy. You will always be my oldest and first  grandson. No one can take that away from me. You were chosen. I want you to know how special you are so I am writing this to you. I don’t want you to have to wonder or question my love for you. It is bigger than the whole universe. You are special and I want you to know that.

 

